My Strong and Mighty Hightower

fortress

A Christian living a godly life will have struggles and battles here on this earth.  Satan will come at us at full force, with everything he can, to discourage us and prevent us from serving God.  He will use our family, friends, and others to fight against us.  They may think they are doing God’s service but Satan will use different methods to deceive and mislead others.  He will spread lies, use others to whisper and backbite, cause jealousy, pride, etc…. He has been around for a long time and knows just where to fight against God’s people.  I am reminded of the words of the Psalmist in Psalm 18, “The Lord is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my strength, in whom I will trust; my buckler, and the horn of my salvation, and my high tower”

To give you an example of what battles you may have to go through in your Christian walk, I will give you a small part of my testimony.  I have fought some hard battles in my life due to Satan’s tactics.  I have been called a false prophet, liar, and so on.  I have been lied on by people I considered my friends.  I have been sick and have had sickness in my family that Satan has used to try to discourage me.  I know that I cannot fight my battles alone, because Satan is much smarter and stronger than me.  I must rely on my Heavenly Father above to fight my battles.  I must lay my burdens and cares of this life upon the feet of Jesus.  Jesus is my strong and mighty hightower.  He has and can give the peace we need to overcome what it thrown at us.  Isaiah 26:3 says, “Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on thee; because he trusteth in thee.”

Jesus gives us the right tools for the battle.  He starts off by giving us the breastplate of righteousness, then he goes on to strengthen us by giving us the shield of faith, last of all, he gives us the sword of the Lord (the Bible), so that we may quench the fiery darts of the Devil. Ephesians 6:16 says, “Above all, taking the shield of faith, wherewith ye shall be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked.”  If you are not fighting battles on this earth you are not doing the service of the Lord.  Satan doesn’t want anyone to continue serving the Lord.  He wants to deceive you into thinking you are not worthy, or that you are not good enough.  Anyone that God has received, he has instructed to continue in the service of the Lord.  It doesn’t matter whether you are a woman, man or child, you can do God’s service.

Satan wants to hit your weaknesses and discourage you from doing God’s will.  We must continue in God’s work, and not allow our faith to be pulled apart.  We cannot stand alone, we must rely on Jesus as our strength.  We must fight battles under the protection of the mighty God; and stay in the battle no matter what comes our way.  God wants not only those who are strong, but those who will not give up.  Do you love the Lord in good times and in the bad times.  He wants those that love him enough to stay in the battle.

Related Scriptures:

1 Peter 5:7-Casting all your cares upon him, for he careth for you.

John 16:2-They shall put you out of the synagogues: yea, the time cometh, that whosoever killeth you will think that he doeth God service.

Psalm 91:1-4- He that dwelleth in the secret place of the most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.  I will say of the Lord, He is my refuge and my fortress: my God; in him will I trust.  Surely he shall deliver thee from the snare of the fowler, and from the noisome pestilence.  He shall cover thee with his feathers, and under his wings shalt thou trust: his truth shall be thy shield and buckler.

Psalm 18:2-The Lord is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my strength, in whom I will trust; my buckler, and the horn of my salvation, and my high tower.

Ephesians 6:10-16- Finally, my brethren, be strong in the Lord, and in the power of his might.  Put on the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil.  For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.  Wherefore take unto you the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.  Stand therefore, having your loins girt about with truth, and having on the breastplate of righteousness;  And your feet shod with the preparation of the gospel of peace; Above all, taking the shield of faith, wherewith ye shall be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked.

About Tracy K

I am a born again believer who has taught Sunday School, Women's Meetings and written blogs and books for the purpose of the ministry. My sole purpose is to spread the gospel of Jesus Christ. I believe Jesus, the son of God, died on a cross for the sins of the whole world. I believe he arose after three days and now sits on the right side of God in Heaven. I believe Jesus Christ is the only way of salvation. Without Jesus, there is no remissions of sins:
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Strong and Mighty Hightower

  1. Pingback: My Strong and Mighty Hightower | Religion | Sc...

Leave a Reply

