Prayer Changes Things

Image result for man on ventilator

If you are a Child of God, then he hears your prayers. Don’t think something is too big or too small for God to take care of.  Recently I prayed for something. I really didn’t know if God would help me with it or not. In a way it was a small thing but to me it was much needed.  As the day went on, the prayer was answered and I was amazed.  It feels good to know that God hears you and he will answer even the smallest things, but he is able to handle so much more if we would only ask him to.

I have written about this before but it was a big miracle to me, and that is why I bring it up again.  One day my dad had fallen and broken his hip.  The next morning they performed surgery and when he awoke from surgery he couldn’t breathe well.  We assumed it had something to do with the anethesia.  They eventually transferred him to a bigger hospital but it didn’t help.  He still couldn’t breathe good.  He eventually had to be put on a ventilator which did his breathing for him.  After a couple of months, his organs began to shut down.  He had to have dialysis, his lung compacity went way down.  Doctors gave us the bad news that he would not live too much longer.  They decided to move him out to the floor, so we could spend his last days with him.  At times he were a Bipap, which pushed air into him, so he could breathe.

Our whole family was praying for him.  We had asked prayer from several churches and other Christians we knew.  We were so tired.  We were working then going to the hospital until bedtime, and was barely able to rest much, or spend time with our familes at home.  Then one day, we noticed his heart rate suddenly drop.  80, 70, 60, 50, 40.  That is when we went to the hospital hallway and screamed for help.  The nurses came in and said nothing was wrong, until we said, Look at him. They realized that he wasn’t breathing at all and his pulse was dropping.  They made us leave the room and pulled the crash cart in the room.  Suddenly they pulled him out in the hallway using a Bambu bag to breathe for him as they were doing CPR, on the way to the ICU unit.

The nurses asked my mother if they should let him die.  They had already given up on him.  The doctors had already given up on him.  We were all crying.  My mother said, I don’t know.  I suggested she wait until morning to make any decisions, and that she should put him back on the ventilator for the night.  That way she could pray about it; about letting him go.  We were so heart broken and grief stricken.  That is when the nurses ran out and told us that my dad had a large mucus plug blocking his airway and it came flying out when they  put the tube down his throat to intubate him. The nurse said, He’s going to be okay.   At that moment I knew he would be okay.  I knew God had answered our prayer.  See God was in control and he healed him.  And Dad was okay.  I know I will never forget that day, ever.

Another time God healed me from Pneumonia, after I had it for over two months.  I couldn’t breathe well at all.  I had the elders of the church pray over me and within a couple of days, I was healed.  God is able and he can heal.  He can answer any prayer.  He can help you with anything that you need, but he is waiting on you to ask him.

Some reasons to pray are:

  1. Pray about all your needs or troubles.
  2. Pray for fellowship with your Father.
  3. Pray to show  honor to God. Praise the Lord.
  4. Pray to God because you are thankful for what Christ did on the cross for you and for mankind.
  5. Pray for the needs of others.
  6. Pray for guidance- such as you need an answer to a question
  7. Pray for Leadership- you want God to direct your path
  8. Pray for Understanding- so you will understand the scriptures better.
  9. Pray for Peace in your life.
  10. Pray for healing
  11. 11. Pray for forgiveness
Related scriptures:
Acts 10;4-And when he looked on him, he was afraid, and said, What is it, Lord? And he said unto him, Thy prayers and thine alms are come up for a memorial before God.
Romans 15:30-Now I beseech you, brethren, for the Lord Jesus Christ’s sake, and for the love of the Spirit, that ye strive together with me in your prayers to God for me;
1 Timothy 5:5-Now she that is a widow indeed, and desolate, trusteth in God, and continueth in supplications and prayers night and day
1 Peter 3:12-For the eyes of the Lord are over the righteous, and his ears are open unto their prayers: but the face of the Lord is against them that do evil.
About Tracy K

I am a born again believer who has taught Sunday School, Women's Meetings and written blogs and books for the purpose of the ministry. My sole purpose is to spread the gospel of Jesus Christ. I believe Jesus, the son of God, died on a cross for the sins of the whole world. I believe he arose after three days and now sits on the right side of God in Heaven. I believe Jesus Christ is the only way of salvation. Without Jesus, there is no remissions of sins:
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Prayer Changes Things

  1. Kristi Ann says:

    Awe and Amen-Amein Sister in Christ Jesus ( Yeshua ) Tracy!!

    “Pray Without Ceasing.” ( 1 Thessalonians 5:17 KJV )!!

    Love ❤ Always and Shalom, YSIC

    Kristi Ann

Leave a Reply

