God is In Control Not Us

clouds1

Yesterday on my way to work, I sat at a red-light that seemed to take forever to change. I remember seeing the light start to change and then change back to red. I thought to myself, “Did that just happen?  Is God trying to slow me down?” I know that my God is able to protect me no matter what.  He has slowed me down before when I was driving, to keep me out of a wreck.  Once I was stopped at a stop sign and the traffic kept coming and coming. A street that was never so busy was suddenly flooded by drivers.  That day, a wreck happened right in front of me and I knew that if I was a few seconds earlier, I would have been in that wreck.

So yesterday when I was driving, I tried to be cautious and drive as safely as possible, trying to do the speed limit.  After crossing over the river bridge, I was on my way toward one of the busiest roads near my hometown.  As I was driving along, there appeared a car in front of me crossing the median over into my lane.  I remember how everything seemed to zoom in as if I was watching a movie.  I slowed down as quickly as possible, hoping no one was going to slam me from behind.  As I looked in my rear view mirror, cars were a long way back. That was a miracle in itself because this road was very busy usually.

When I turned around I seen this car suddenly flip over in front of me and land on the right side of the road.  It landed on its wheels but the windshield was smashed completely.  So I quickly pulled over to the right side of the road just in front of this car.   I jumped out to see if I could help the people in the car.  I saw that this car was inches from a hill.  If the car would have went over anymore, it would have flipped down the hill.  I still remember every single time the car flipped from one side to the other as if I was watching in slow motion.

The driver was alive but in shock. The front passenger was more responsive but confused.  The three kids in the back were uninjured but crying and wanting out of the car.  My first instinct was to keep them safe.  This road was going to become very dangerous and busy and I wanted to keep the kids safe, but afraid the car was going to slide on down the hill.  Two more guys pulled over to help.  One called the ambulance and the other tried to help me check on everyone.  The driver and passenger doors were jammed shut with the drivers window completely smashed and folded down.  There didn’t seem to be any observable injuries but the driver said her head hurt.  Finally the guy opened the back door and let the kids out so we could make sure they were safe, out of the car.  They were walking around as if they hadn’t been in an accident, but scared.

After a few minutes, the family of this lady came driving back.  They were all headed to a water park and drove three cars.  The family jumped out screaming and crying and grabbing the children and running back to their car. Then they finally came back with the kids in hand.  I tried to comfort the family as much as possible, trying to keep them from panicking and scaring the children worse. Usually I do not take control of any situation but this time someone had too.  The family was in no shape no care for anyone.  I tried to watch the children and attend to the driver and passenger as best as possible, making sure they were breathing, and as still as possible. I thought to myself all I can do at this moment is pray and console the family; showing some compassion as we waited for the ambulance to arrive. I wanted them to know that I was not leaving until help arrived and that I was praying for them.

Looking back at the circumstance I realize it was not the driver, not me, not anyone that helped that family but God.  He is the only one who can protect us in any situation.  We think we control things in this life but it is not us, but our Heavenly Father.  I know he slowed that car down so it did not hit me.  I know that he slowed the car from rolling over too hard, because it could have been much worse.  I know that I was there for a reason if nothing else but to show love to these complete strangers.  It didn’t matter who they were.  All that mattered was they were God’s children and he was looking out for them.  That day my heart grieved for them because I know that this is something they will never forget.  I was only thankful that God allowed me to be there that day for them.  I hope God continues to use me for his service.  Most of all I want to tell others what a great God we serve, because he is the one who truly watches over us. He is the one who gives us that love we need, even if it is through complete strangers. I ask you to show love for someone today.  If you don’t know Jesus as your personal Savior, I ask you to consider how much he cares about you.  He can comfort you, protect you and help you in any situation that you face in this life. Please remember God is in control, not us.

About Tracy K

I am a born again believer who has taught Sunday School, Women's Meetings and written blogs and books for the purpose of the ministry. My sole purpose is to spread the gospel of Jesus Christ. I believe Jesus, the son of God, died on a cross for the sins of the whole world. I believe he arose after three days and now sits on the right side of God in Heaven. I believe Jesus Christ is the only way of salvation. Without Jesus, there is no remissions of sins:
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to God is In Control Not Us

  1. What a comfort to read your wise words after coming back home after the funeral for my mother. I look forward to getting to know you better. I am honored that you are following me, blessings,

    • Tracy K says:

      So sorry about your loss. Glad it helped you. It brings me comfort to know that we have a great God that loves each and every one of us and that he watches over us. Your mother is in a better place and she will have no more pain, no worries but happiness with our Lord. Blessings to you as well.

  2. Kristi Ann says:

    Amen Sister in Christ Jesus ( Yeshua ) Tracy!! Yes, Our True God the Father and His Son Jesus ( Yeshua ) Christ is in Control of Everything from Heaven Above!! ( https://kristiann1.com/2015/09/11/gisc/ )

    Love ❤ Always and Shalom ( Peace ), YSIC \o/

    Kristi Ann

Leave a Reply

