Am I My Brother’s Keeper

brother1

Genesis 4:9 says: And the Lord said unto Cain, Where is Abel thy brother? And he said, I know not: Am I my brother’s keeper?  The Lord was asking Cain what happened to his brother Abel.  The Lord knew what happened but wanted to hear the response from Cain.  Cain killed his brother and the Lord knew that he did.  Cain had a smart mouthed response to the Lord; Am I my brother’s keeper?

As I read this text and see how it applies today, I notice that this text has different meaning when applied today.  If the Lord asked you to account for someone today, would you have the same response………  Am I my brother’s keeper?

After reading a few scripture to see what God thought about this, I see where God expects us to help our brothers;

  • help others when they are in need.
  • teach others about God
  • instruct men into righteousness
  • help a brother that has been led astray, help him find the right path back.

Galatians 6:1-10 says, “Brethren, if a man be overtaken in a fault, ye which are spiritual, restore such an one in the spirit of meekness; considering thyself, lest thou also be tempted. Bear ye one another’s burdens, and so fulfil the law of Christ. For if a man think himself to be something, when he is nothing, he deceiveth himself. But let every man prove his own work, and then shall he have rejoicing in himself alone, and not in another. For every man shall bear his own burden. Let him that is taught in the word communicate unto him that teacheth in all good things. Be not deceived; God is not mocked: for whatsoever a man soweth, that shall he also reap. For he that soweth to his flesh shall of the flesh reap corruption; but he that soweth to the Spirit shall of the Spirit reap life everlasting. And let us not be weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not. As we have therefore opportunity, let us do good unto all men, especially unto them who are of the household of faith.” Ephesians 6:18 says, “Praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, and watching thereunto with all perseverance and supplication for all saints.”

This tells me that we are to care enough to help our brothers.  You may ask, Who is my brother? Matthew 12:50 says, “For whosoever shall do the will of my Father which is in heaven, the same is my brother, and sister, and mother.” Matthew 19:19 says, “Honour thy father and thy mother: and, Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself.”  Don’t be afraid to tell someone when they are sinning.  Tell others about Jesus and what Jesus expects from our lives.

About Tracy K

I am a born again believer who has taught Sunday School, Women's Meetings and written blogs and books for the purpose of the ministry. My sole purpose is to spread the gospel of Jesus Christ. I believe Jesus, the son of God, died on a cross for the sins of the whole world. I believe he arose after three days and now sits on the right side of God in Heaven. I believe Jesus Christ is the only way of salvation. Without Jesus, there is no remissions of sins:
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

