Giving Thanks

indians

With the holiday season of Thanksgiving we all know that it stands for day of remembrance to give thanks for the blessings of harvest!  Many take this time to give God Thanks for the blessings that God has given us.  Most go through the tradition of having family and friends to come over and celebrate Thanksgiving by having a great dinner with turkey, dressing, sweet potatoes and all the fixings. Dare I say that some might not take time to celebrate the season and perhaps even dread the day that their lives are interrupted for a day.

Let me tell you that I believe everyone needs to give thanks to God every day of their lives especially at the Thanksgiving holiday.  This years season has been really exciting to me.  I know I will have to miss my son coming home for the holiday because he is in the military, but I am truly blessed.  After going through some trials this year, I feel truly blessed to spend time to give thanks with my family.  We usually go over my mothers house and bring a casserole and spend it with my sisters and their families.  Our family keeps growing.  My three sisters have husband and children and now grandchildren, which makes moms house full.  Not really enough room to turn around.  That is what is a blessing!  To have family that cares about you and that you can spend time with.  I thank God for the blessing of family.

From the beginning God said be fruitful and multiply and replenish the earth.  That means God wants us to have family and enjoy what he has given us.  He never said that our lives would be perfect but that he would always be with us.  I heard a sermon the other day where the preacher was talking about the Israelites when they were led from Egypt.  God prepared them a land of milk and honey, the promise land.  All but a couple never made it because of their rebellion and complaining.  God wants to bless you with all spiritual blessings. Ephesians 1:3 says, “Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who hath blessed us with all spiritual blessings in heavenly places in Christ.”  God has prepared for us a place in Heaven but we must be his children.  That simply means we need to repent and accept his son Jesus as our Savior.

I hope you all enjoy the Thanksgiving season and remember to give God thanks for all that he has done for you.  He loves us and he is always with us, even unto death.  1 Thessalonians 5:18 says, “In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.”

About Tracy K

I am a born again believer who has taught Sunday School, Women's Meetings and written blogs and books for the purpose of the ministry. My sole purpose is to spread the gospel of Jesus Christ. I believe Jesus, the son of God, died on a cross for the sins of the whole world. I believe he arose after three days and now sits on the right side of God in Heaven. I believe Jesus Christ is the only way of salvation. Without Jesus, there is no remissions of sins:
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Giving Thanks

  1. Pingback: Giving Thanks | Christians Anonymous

Leave a Reply

