Satan Wants to Sift you as Wheat

sp1If you think the Devil is only after the unsaved, then you have lots to learn.  Many think that if they read the Bible, the Devil will leave them alone.  Let me tell you that the closer you draw to God, the more the Devil will attack you.  If you think you are above deception from the Devil you are sadly mistaken.  I have seen people that were close to God, start to stray from the truth.  I have seen men that I greatly admired, turn from God.  I want to give you steps to ward off Satan and his snares.  You may ask why I am able to give you information, well I have been attacked on many levels lately and I want to help others as much as possible. I don’t care if you know the Bible inside and out, Satan does too.  Satan or Lucifer was an angel that became corrupted in his own ideas of pride.

No matter how strong you are in the Lord or how much you know the scriptures, Satan desires to sift you as wheat.  2 Timothy 1:7 says,  For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.  Satan wants to take away your peace and make you fear.  Psalm 18:17-20 says: “He delivered me from my strong enemy, and from them which hated me: for they were too strong for me.  They prevented me in the day of my calamity: but the Lord was my stay.  He brought me forth also into a large place; he delivered me, because he delighted in me. The Lord rewarded me according to my righteousness; according to the cleanness of my hands hath he recompensed me.  For I have kept the ways of the Lord, and have not wickedly departed from my God.

Don’t ever think that you can defeat the Devil on your own.  He is too strong for you.  He is an angel with powers.  You must rely on the Lord.  Rebuke the Devil in the name of Jesus Christ and he will flee from you. You must not fear Satan.  Fear is your enemy.  Satan will use it against you.  If something your doing is making you fear, then stop it.

Second, think of things above.  John 14:1-3 says: “Let not your heart be troubled: ye believe in God, believe also in me.  In my Father’s house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you.  And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again, and receive you unto myself; that where I am, there ye may be also.”  Jesus said he will give us a Comforter than will teach us all things.  “But the Comforter, which is the Holy Ghost, whom the Father will send in my name, he shall teach you all things, and bring all things to your remembrance, whatsoever I have said unto you.”  John 14:27 says, “Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.”  See Jesus is telling us not to be afraid again.  

Third of all,  dwelling in God will help you ward off the snares of the Devil.  John 15:5-7 says, “I am the vine, ye are the branches: He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit: for without me ye can do nothing.  If a man abide not in me, he is cast forth as a branch, and is withered; and men gather them, and cast them into the fire, and they are burned.  If ye abide in me, and my words abide in you, ye shall ask what ye will, and it shall be done unto you.” Ask the Lord for things you need. Jesus said ye have not because ye ask not.

Fourth, cast down all imaginations that are not Godly.  2 Corinthians 10:5 says, “Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ.”  This means not to allow anything in your head that are wicked.  If you are dreaming about wicked things, then you need to try to decide where those thoughts are coming from.

Fifth, Walk in the Spirit.  You may wonder what this means.  Galatians 5:16 tells us to walk in the spirit and ye shall not fulfil the lust of the flesh.  Galatians 5:22 tells us what the fruits of the spirit are: “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, Meekness, temperance: against such there is no law.” To walk in the Spirit means to practice things of the Spirit such as love, self control, peace, etc… Temperance is self control.  Stay away from things you shouldn’t allow yourself near. Learn forgiveness for others and love others.

Sixth thing to help you in your Christian walk is: Sow things to the Spirit.  Galatians 6:7-9 says, “Be not deceived; God is not mocked: for whatsoever a man soweth, that shall he also reap. For he that soweth to his flesh shall of the flesh reap corruption; but he that soweth to the Spirit shall of the Spirit reap life everlasting.  And let us not be weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not.”

Last of all, Put on the whole armor of God. If you want to defeat the Devil, you must put on the armor of God.  Ephesians 6:11-18 says, “Put on the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil.  For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.  Wherefore take unto you the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.  Stand therefore, having your loins girt about with truth, and having on the breastplate of righteousness;  And your feet shod with the preparation of the gospel of peace;  Above all, taking the shield of faith, wherewith ye shall be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked.  And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God:  Praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, and watching thereunto with all perseverance and supplication for all saints.”

I urge you to study these verses for they will help you fight off the snares of the Devil.  Devil’s snares are everywhere, even in the churches.  Look out and be wise.  Pray for God to give you discernment.  Pray for guidance and God will direct your path.

Related scriptures:

Psalm 18:2-The Lord is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my strength, in whom I will trust; my buckler, and the horn of my salvation, and my high tower.

1 Peter 5:8-Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour:

Hebrews 4:12->For the word of God is quick, and powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit, and of the joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.

 

About Tracy K

I am a born again believer who has taught Sunday School, Women's Meetings and written blogs and books for the purpose of the ministry. My sole purpose is to spread the gospel of Jesus Christ. I believe Jesus, the son of God, died on a cross for the sins of the whole world. I believe he arose after three days and now sits on the right side of God in Heaven. I believe Jesus Christ is the only way of salvation. Without Jesus, there is no remissions of sins:
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Satan Wants to Sift you as Wheat

  1. Pingback: Satan Wants to Sift you as Wheat | Christians Anonymous

  2. Eliza says:

    Here is another portion of Scripture that I have found particularly helpful in resisting the attacks of the enemy:

    From whence come wars and fightings among you? come they not hence, even of your lusts that war in your members? Ye lust, and have not: ye kill, and desire to have, and cannot obtain: ye fight and war, yet ye have not, because ye ask not. Ye ask, and receive not, because ye ask amiss, that ye may consume it upon your lusts. Ye adulterers and adulteresses, know ye not that the friendship of the world is enmity with God? whosoever therefore will be a friend of the world is the enemy of God. Do ye think that the scripture saith in vain, The spirit that dwells in us lusts to envy? But he gives more grace. Wherefore he saith, God resists the proud, but gives grace unto the humble. Submit yourselves therefore to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. Draw nigh to God, and he will draw nigh to you. Cleanse your hands, ye sinners; and purify your hearts, ye double minded. Be afflicted, and mourn, and weep: let your laughter be turned to mourning, and your joy to heaviness. Humble yourselves in the sight of the Lord, and he shall lift you up. James 4:1-10

    Actually here are other helpful verses from the same book:

    Who is a wise man and endued with knowledge among you? let him shew out of a good conversation his works with meekness of wisdom. But if ye have bitter envying and strife in your hearts, glory not, and lie not against the truth. This wisdom descends not from above, but is earthly, sensual, devilish. For where envying and strife is, there is confusion and every evil work. But the wisdom that is from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, and easy to be entreated, full of mercy and good fruits, without partiality, and without hypocrisy. And the fruit of righteousness is sown in peace of them that make peace. James 3:13-18

    Thank you for sharing this helpful exhortation! God bless you:)

  3. Tracy K says:

    Yes Jesus has been showing me things about humility lately. Jesus was born in humility, lived in humility and died in humility. It is hard but separation goes so much more deeper than separating yourself from the world, but also family and friends who are not living Godly. Also separating ourselves from all evil influences, whether it is television, books or circumstances we find ourselves in. Thanks for the comment. I know there are others right now that are battling spiritual battles and I know they are not easy…. God bless you and your family this holiday season.

Leave a Reply

