Should Christians Participate in Halloween

Halloween3

Should Christians Take part in celebrating Halloween.  The name “Halloween” comes from the All Saints Day celebration of the early Christian church, a day set aside for the solemn remembrance of the martyrs. All Hallows Eve, the evening before All Saints Day, began the time of remembrance. “All Hallows Eve” was eventually contracted to “Hallow-e’en,” which became “Halloween.” Maybe this is how it was started, but today it is not used to celebrate Christianity in any shape or fashion, but to the contrary.

Anything that confuses new converts could be considered a stumbling block to their faith.  A full participation in Halloween, with costumes and decorations that include the occult symbols is a very questionable stand for a Christian to take.  As Christians we should say our participation in Halloween aligns itself with (1Th 5:21-22) “Prove all things; hold fast that which is good. Abstain from all appearance of evil.”

May the Lord lead each of us to an understanding of what God’s will is.  Some Christians take this time to celebrate the fall season and use it for the purpose of witnessing to Children by passing out tracts and scriptural inspired candies, pencils, etc… This type of celebration is far better than the act of “trick or treating” or of parties celebrating Halloween with drinking and wearing costumes.  Christians should in no case participate in these activities!

In the past, I have participated in both types of celebrations.  When I was young we went out trick or treating until my dad told us that we wouldn’t participate in Halloween anymore.  At the time, I thought that was just awful.  I couldn’t understand why we couldn’t have fun with other kids, but he held strong to his belief.  He called Halloween a Pagan holiday and that we weren’t going to celebrate it anymore.   Then when I got older and had children of my own, I didn’t allow my kids to go trick or treating.  At first, it was because of the dangers of them getting hurt or someone poisoning the candy but we did allow our children to participate in church fall festivals so they wouldn’t feel left out.

My kids are much older now so I quit worrying about Halloween and Fall Festivals as much as I did; but the more I grow stronger to God, the more it bothers me.  I look at it this way.  If the holiday of Halloween wasn’t so bad, then why do so many people dress up in costumes about Witches, Vampires, Ghost.  I look at how some people decorate their yards with tombstones, witches, ghost, etc… I wonder why but realize that this Holiday is not one that is celebrated for God or Jesus, but quite the contrary.  At least Christmas and Easter has some meaning of Jesus in it and I am proud to honor him. There is nothing to honor Jesus in Halloween but glory to all forms of demonic forces.  During Halloween, there are Satanic masses, occult practices, witchcraft rituals, playing of pranks or tricks on others, visiting haunted houses, telling scary stories, and watching horror films which usually are released on Halloween.  These types of events only welcome demonic forces upon you or your house.  I urge you to take warning, these things should never be practiced. Ask yourself this question, would Jesus participate in these events!

I usually leave related links on my post but choose not to glorify those sites, but you can do your research on Google.com if you are not totally convinced.

About Tracy K

I am a born again believer who has taught Sunday School, Women's Meetings and written blogs and books for the purpose of the ministry. My sole purpose is to spread the gospel of Jesus Christ. I believe Jesus, the son of God, died on a cross for the sins of the whole world. I believe he arose after three days and now sits on the right side of God in Heaven. I believe Jesus Christ is the only way of salvation. Without Jesus, there is no remissions of sins:
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

