Raising Children in the Lord

father

children4

As a parent myself, I know of the struggles that come with parenthood.  Becoming a parent is one of the greatest joys a person can have but with parenthood comes much responsibility.  We must remember God before all things and teach our children about the Lord.  No matter what we do or say, it should be to the glory of the Lord. We should not lie or sugar-coat things but speak the truth plainly and without compromise. We must punish them when they do wrong because the Bible teaches us to do so.  Proverbs 19:18 says, “Chasten thy son while there is hope, and let not thy soul spare for his crying.”

Today parents are afraid of speaking the truth to their children because they are afraid they will get angry with them, and perhaps stop talking to them.  I agree that it is very difficult to tell our children the truth, especially if they live hundreds of miles a way.  My daughter lives with me but my son is in the military and has lived away from home for about three years now.  No matter how old he is, it is still my responsibility to teach him and instruct him in the ways of God.

The Bible gives us plenty of instructions regarding parenting but I will cover a couple at this time.  First, lets look at the story of the Prodigal son.  He rebelled and went away from his father, living a rebellious life.  His father didn’t go after him and plead with him to come home but let him go.  After the son ran out of money, he repented and came back to his father.  Read this post-the Prodigal son. 

Now lets look at the story of Eli the Priest.  Eli of Shiloh had two sons, Hophni and Phinehas, which knew not the Lord.  His sons did evil in the sight of the Lord and Eli knew about it.  When he was old, he went as far as to tell his sons that he knew what evil they were doing.  The story goes on to tells us that the sons died in battle and Eli the priest died too.  The story doesn’t mention how the Father taught them about the Lord or how he tried to raise them right.  The story mentions how Eli honored his sons above God.  See it is not enough just to tell your children they are sinning, when they are older.  We have a much greater responsibility to raise them right from their youth and teach them the way they should live. Proverbs 22:6 says, “Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it.”

Related scriptures:

1 Samuel 2:27-34-And there came a man of God unto Eli, and said unto him, Thus saith the Lord, Did I plainly appear unto the house of thy father, when they were in Egypt in Pharaoh’s house?  And did I choose him out of all the tribes of Israel to be my priest, to offer upon mine altar, to burn incense, to wear an ephod before me? and did I give unto the house of thy father all the offerings made by fire of the children of Israel?  Wherefore kick ye at my sacrifice and at mine offering, which I have commanded in my habitation; and honourest thy sons above me, to make yourselves fat with the chiefest of all the offerings of Israel my people?  Wherefore the Lord God of Israel saith, I said indeed that thy house, and the house of thy father, should walk before me for ever: but now the Lord saith, Be it far from me; for them that honour me I will honour, and they that despise me shall be lightly esteemed.  Behold, the days come, that I will cut off thine arm, and the arm of thy father’s house, that there shall not be an old man in thine house.  And thou shalt see an enemy in my habitation, in all the wealth which God shall give Israel: and there shall not be an old man in thine house for ever.  And the man of thine, whom I shall not cut off from mine altar, shall be to consume thine eyes, and to grieve thine heart: and all the increase of thine house shall die in the flower of their age.  And this shall be a sign unto thee, that shall come upon thy two sons, on Hophni and Phinehas; in one day they shall die both of them.

Proverbs 23:3-14- Withhold not correction from the child: for if thou beatest him with the rod, he shall not die.  Thou shalt beat him with the rod, and shalt deliver his soul from hell.

Proverbs 22:15- Foolishness is bound in the heart of a child; but the rod of correction shall drive it far from him.

Proverbs 13:24- He that spareth his rod hateth his son: but he that loveth him chasteneth him betimes.

Ephesians 6:4-And, ye fathers, provoke not your children to wrath: but bring them up in the nurture and admonition of the Lord.

Luke 18:16-But Jesus called them unto him, and said, Suffer little children to come unto me, and forbid them not: for of such is the kingdom of God.

About Tracy K

I am a born again believer who has taught Sunday School, Women's Meetings and written blogs and books for the purpose of the ministry. My sole purpose is to spread the gospel of Jesus Christ. I believe Jesus, the son of God, died on a cross for the sins of the whole world. I believe he arose after three days and now sits on the right side of God in Heaven. I believe Jesus Christ is the only way of salvation. Without Jesus, there is no remissions of sins:
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Raising Children in the Lord

  1. Pingback: Raising Children in the Lord | Religion | Scoo...

Leave a Reply

