Witnessing for Christ

fishers

One thing God tells you to do is witness.  One of the last things Jesus said to the people on this earth, before he ascended unto Heaven, was to teach all nations and preach the Gospel.  Luke 14:23 says, “And the lord said unto the servant, Go out into the highways and hedges, and compel them to come in, that my house may be filled.” One great joy that a Christian experiences is to tell others about Jesus.

The first time I ever went witnessing was when a lady in Texas asked me to go with her.  I was young and didn’t know what to say.  She told me to just come along and watch.  I learned that the second person can help with any outside distractions that might prevent the Gospel from being told.  So, I went along and watched.  Sometimes I played with animals and children while she witnessed.

Finally she asked me to be the one who told the Gospel to others.  I was nervous and didn’t know how to tell others about Jesus.  I knew I was a Christian myself and I know what God did for me, so it helped me when I told others about Jesus.  The more I went with her, the easier it got to speak.  First, I would just invite them to church.  If they had questions then that opened the door for me to continue witnessing to them.  Teaching others about Jesus brings a fulfillment to me.  I know that I am doing what God has commanded me to do.

Some of the basic scriptures that you can teach others when you are witnessing comes from the Book of Romans.  If someone tells you that they are good and don’t need salvation, quote Romans 3:10.  There is none righteous, no not one.  Romans 3:23 says, For all have sinned and come short of the glory of God.   Then I tell them that God forgives us of our sins if we ask him.  “But God commended his love toward us that while we were sinners, Christ died for us” (Romans 5:8).  “For the wages of sin is death; but the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord”, (Romans 6:23).

If they decide they want to surrender to God and become a Christian then I quote Romans 10:9,10, “That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved.  For with the heart, man believeth unto righteousness; and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation.”

If they say that they doubt their salvation, I quote, 1 John 5:13.  “These things have I written unto you that believe on the name of the Son of God; that ye may know that ye have eternal life, and that ye may believe on the name of the Son of God.” To know something is to have complete knowledge of it.  You can have one hundred percent knowledge that God will save you if you believe in him and ask him into your heart.

God puts you here as a witness.  It is hard to witness if we think only about ourselves.  It helps if we tell ourselves daily that we should live for others and not ourself.  Don’t worry what others say about you —don’t worry what they do to you.  God is on your side.  Don’t worry!  God doesn’t want you to be caught up in the affairs of this life but he wants you to set your affection on him.  Don’t worry who was mean to you or called you a name.  It is not about you but about God.  Your purpose is to spread the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

Satan will often put snares in front of you and you WILL be persecuted by others.  I know because Satan will do everything in his power to prevent you from telling others about Jesus.  God wants you to live for others.  Ask yourself today, What can I do to help others?  Who can I give to today?

The next step after salvation is to find a church home and become a member.  Look for a church that believes in telling the truth.  Don’t look for a feel good church that waters down the truth to make someone feel good about themselves.  If you truly want to become closer to God then you need to find the right church.  Then be baptized if you aren’t already. Look at this post to read more about Baptism. 

Witnessing to others helps you build upon a closer and stronger foundation with God.  1 Corinthians 3:11-15 says, “For other foundation can no man lay than that is laid, which is Jesus Christ. Now if any man build upon this foundation gold, silver, precious stones, wood, hay, stubble; Every man’s work shall be made manifest: for the day shall declare it, because it shall be revealed by fire; and the fire shall try every man’s work of what sort it is. If any man’s work abide which he hath built thereupon, he shall receive a reward. If any man’s work shall be burned, he shall suffer loss: but he himself shall be saved; yet so as by fire.”

1 Peter 1:4 says, “We will receive an inheritance incorruptible, and undefiled, and that fadeth not away, reserved in Heaven for you”.   If we are going to receive an inheritance, we are God’s sons and daughters.  Here on this earth when our fathers die, they leave an inheritance to their children.   They usually don’t leave it to someone else’s family, they leave it to their children.

James 5:20 says, “Let him know, that he which converteth the sinner from the error of his way shall save a soul from death, and shall hide a multitude of sins.”  This shows how important it is to tell others about God.

Related scriptures:

Acts 1:8-But ye shall receive power, after that the Holy Ghost is come upon you: and ye shall be witnesses unto me both in Jerusalem, and in all Judaea, and in Samaria, and unto the uttermost part of the earth.

Acts 22:15- For thou shalt be his witness unto all men of what thou hast seen and heard.

Luke 14:23And the lord said unto the servant, Go out into the highways and hedges, and compel them to come in, that my house may be filled.

About Tracy K

I am a born again believer who has taught Sunday School, Women's Meetings and written blogs and books for the purpose of the ministry. My sole purpose is to spread the gospel of Jesus Christ. I believe Jesus, the son of God, died on a cross for the sins of the whole world. I believe he arose after three days and now sits on the right side of God in Heaven. I believe Jesus Christ is the only way of salvation. Without Jesus, there is no remissions of sins:
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Witnessing for Christ

  1. Pingback: Witnessing for Christ | Religion | Scoop.it

  2. Pingback: Cost of a Man’s Soul | Godly Witnesses

  3. Pingback: Learning More About Jesus Christ- Important Posts | Godly Witnesses For Christ

Leave a Reply

